Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame: The Class of 2017

The Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame‘s Class of 2017 were introduced and inducted on September 23, 2017


The BARHOF Class of 2017 includes Peter Cleaveland (News), Dan Ethen (Engineer), Ron Fell (Management), John Mack Flanagan (Program Host), Richard Gossett (Program Host), Lee Jones (Specialty), Michael Krasny (Talk Show Host), Dan Sorkin (Program Host), Doug Sovern (News), Tony Tremayne (Pioneer; née Mel Fritze) and Rich Walcoff (Sports).

In addition, Chris Jackson of 98.5 KFOX was honored as the recipient of the first Don Sherwood Award as the most popular radio personality in the Bay Area, as selected by the public. John Mack Flanagan, longtime personality on KFRC, KRQR, KSFO/KYA-FM and KWSS, goes into BARHOF as the people’s choice for the Sherwood Award in the Legends category.

In June, BARHOF celebrated San Jose’s 1590 KLIV as our Legendary Station Award recipient for 2017.

The Broadcast Legends inducted the Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame‘s Class of 2017 on Saturday, September 23, at the Basque Cultural Center in South San Francisco.

Peter Cleaveland (Photo)
Peter Cleaveland
Dan Ethen (Photo)
Dan Ethen
Ron Fell (Photo)
Ron Fell
John Mack Flanagan (Photo)
John Mack Flanagan
Richard Gossett (Photo)
Richard Gossett
Lee Jones (Photo)
Lee Jones
Michael Krasny (Photo)
Michael Krasny
Dan Sorkin (Photo)
Dan Sorkin
Doug Sovern (Photo)
Doug Sovern
Tony Tremayne (Photo)
Tony Tremayne
Rich Walcoff (Photo)
Rich Walcoff
Chris Jackson (Photo)
Chris Jackson




    • Many people are surprised to see that he was nominated, but keep in mind that he helped grow fledgling KEAR from a single, struggling FM into the sprawling Family Radio network.

  1. Congrats Rich Walcoff! I knew way back in the early/mid 80’s, while working with you in OC that you were and are a Hall of Famer and good person too.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Don Sherwood Awards 2017 – Bay Area Radio Museum

Leave a Reply to Jacob Wang Cancel reply

%d bloggers like this: