Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame
Class Of 2011 Enshrined

The Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame’s Class of 2011 was honored during a gala ceremony and luncheon on the afternoon of Saturday, October 15, 2011, at the Doubletree Inn on the Berkeley Marina, in conjunction with Broadcast Legends.

The Class of 2011 was announced at the California Historical Radio Society‘s annual Radio Day By The Bay open house in Berkeley on Saturday, July 16, 2011.

The latest members of BARHOF are a veritable “who’s who” of legendary talents from America’s fourth-largest radio market:

Ralph Barbieri

Jan Black

Chet Casselman*

Russ Coughlan*

Don Curran*

Dr. Dean Edell

Rosalie Howarth

Shingo Kamada

Hal Ramey

Laurie Roberts

Kim Wonderley

Honored as pioneers of broadcasting in the Bay Area were Bouncin’ Bill Doubleday, Don Thompson*, Francis J. McCartyand Sybil Herrold*.

In addition, the Board of Directors announced that four distinguished educators responsible for training countless radio legends, both in front of the mike and behind the scenes — Mike Adams, Gordon Greb, Dr. Stuart Hyde and Dan Odum — were honored by the Hall of Fame.

San Francisco’s KFRC*, known to one and all as “The Big 610,” was honored with the Hall of Fame’s Legendary Station award.

* — Denotes posthumous honor..

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x