BARHOF Class of 2019, Sherwood Winners Announced


The latest inductees into the Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame (BARHOF) – the Class of 2019 – were announced during the Radio Day By The Bay 2019 celebration on July 20, 2019, in Alameda.

In addition, the recipients of this year’s Sherwood Awards – the “people’s choices” for the Bay Area’s most popular radio stars – were also announced.

The BARHOF Class of 2019 includes:

  • Sue Hall (Program Host)

  • Sarah Clark (Program Host)

  • Bob Ray (Program Host)

  • Ray Taliaferro (News/Talk Host)

  • John Evans (News)

  • Ken Korach (Sports)

  • Veldon Leverich (Engineer)

  • Doug Harvill (Management)

  • Jane Dornacker (Specialty)

  • Joe Levitt (Pioneer)

The Class of 2019 was selected by the current members of the Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame, with the exception of Bob Ray (selected by public vote) and Veldon Leverich (selected by the Society of Broadcast Engineers, Chapter 40), as well as Doug Harvill and Joe Levitt, who were selected by BARHOF’s board.

Following a very competitive round of public voting, this year’s expanded Sherwood Awards – pitting broadcasters currently on the air locally – will go to:

  • Music Format: Sarah and Vinnie (Alice Radio)

  • News/Talk Format: Ronn Owens (KGO 810)

  • Sports: Dan Rusanowsky (San Jose Sharks)

Among the Sherwood recipients, both Ronn Owens (2007) and Dan Rusanowsky (2013) are already BARHOF inductees, with Sarah Clark – the “Sarah” half of Alice’s morning duo – joining them this year.

The BARHOF Class of 2019 and this year’s Sherwood Award winners was honored with a luncheon on Saturday, September 21, at the Basque Cultural Center in South San Francisco. The event was held under the auspices of the Broadcast Legends, in conjunction with the California Historical Radio Society.


Notify of

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
23 July 2019 1:06 PM

[…] Looking for the recipients of this year’s Sherwood Awards and the Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019? Click here! […]